Bommersvik Declaration II

Convention of Elected Representatives Union of Burma

25 February-1 March 2002
Bommersvik, Sweden

We, the representatives of the people of Burma, elected in the 27 May 1990 general elections (presently serving as members of the National Coalition Government of the Union of Burma and/or the Members of Parliament Union), meeting at the Convention of Elected Representatives held in Bommersvik for the second time, hereby reaffirm -

Our Mandate, Position, and Strategic Objectives

- that we will never ignore the will of the Burmese people expressed through the May 1990 general elections;

- that the military’s refusal to honor the election results does not in any way diminish the validity of these results;

- that our mandates are derived from the election victory of the National League for Democracy (NLD) and the other political parties in the 1990 general elections;

- that our roles are to support and facilitate the NLD led by Daw Aung San Suu Kyi and the other election-winning parties to implement the 1990 election results;

- that our objective is (1) to end military rule, (2) to establish democracy, and (3) to establish a federal Union of Burma;

- that based on the 1990 election results, the NLD led by Daw Aung San Suu Kyi has the mandate to form the Government of the Union of Burma, and that the NLD and Daw Aung San Suu Kyi have the right to enter into a dialogue with the SPDC and others, and to negotiate a transition to democracy;

- that in the light of current political developments our immediate objectives are to promote and ensure, to the extent possible, that

A. the current talks between Daw Aung San Suu Kyi and the SPDC do not break down,
B. the talks become official and irreversible
C. the talks be speeded up to a political dialogue
D. the talks become a tripartite dialogue as soon as possible.
- that in carrying out the activities in support of the above objectives, we undertake to ensure that our activities

1. do not undermine the position of the NLD/Daw Aung San Suu Kyi, and the ethnic nationalities,
2. facilitate national reconciliation, and
3. promote nation-building.
Appreciation and Appeal

We, the representatives of the people of Burma:

- Welcome initiatives by non-Burman ethnic nationalities reaffirming their commitment to ensure the integrity of the Union and to rebuild it on the basis of ‘Panglong Spirit’

- Express firm solidarity with the people of Burma who, despite the hardships and oppression, continue to strive for democracy

- Appreciate and encourage Burma support groups worldwide for their divestment, consumer boycott, and shareholder campaigns in support of the Burmese people and the democracy movement,

- Appreciate the trade unions, employers, and governments for their role at the International Labor Organization conference and urge them to implement the recommendations of the ILO's governing body in November 2000 until forced labor practices end in Burma,

- Support the call on SPDC by UN Special Rapporteur on Human Rights Pinheiro to declare a nationwide ceasefire for the effective delivery of humanitarian assistance through a consultative process involving the NLD, the SPDC, ethnic leaders from respective States and international NGOs,

- Appreciate the UN Secretary General Office and UN Special Envoy Ambassador Tan Sri Razali Ismail’s initiatives to facilitate the national reconciliation process in Burma,

- Thank the Nobel laureates for their calls to bring about peace and national reconciliation in Burma at the 10th anniversary of Nobel Peace Prize for Daw Aung San Suu Kyi, and request them to continue their efforts to help bring democracy to the country,

- Appreciate and commend Norway, the European Union, the United States, Canada and all other nations for their unwavering support to restore democracy in Burma, and in particular request:

1. The European Union to incorporate in its Common Position measures aimed at speeding up the talk process in Burma, and

2. The United States and Canada to maintain their strong position until a genuine national reconciliation takes place in Burma

- Appeal to the Japanese Government to withhold resumption of Official Development Assistance until a transparent, accountable and responsive government of national reconciliation is in place, and

- Request neighboring countries to Burma to fully support and cooperate with the UN Special Envoy in his endeavors to bring about national reconciliation in the interests of regional stability and development.

- Appreciate the more than 3,000 Members of Parliaments worldwide who have signed their declaration of support for fellow MPs in Burma and request them to help the people of Burma by forming Burma caucuses in their Parliaments as recommended by the Inter-Parliamentary Union, and

- Deeply appreciate the Swedish Government and Parliament, Olof Palme International Center, Swedish institutions and people for making the Convention of Elected Representatives of Burma possible and for their warm and cordial hospitality, friendship, and support.

- Urge the SPDC to immediately seek a negotiated political settlement and begin an inclusive nation-building process to alleviate the suffering of the people and the country,


Bo Thaung, U NLD MPU
Daniel Aung, U LNDP MPU
Khin Kyaw Han, U NLD MPU
Lian Uk, U Ind MPU
Maung Maung Aye, U NLD NCGUB/MPU
Maung Maung Latt, U NLD MPU
Sai Win Pay, U SNLD MPU
Sann Aung, Dr Ind NCGUB/MPU
Teddy Buri, U NLD MPU
Thang Lian Pau, U ZNC MPU
Than Sein, U NLD MPU
Tin Tut, U NLD MPU
ALD = Arakan League for Democracy
DOKNU = Democratic Organization for Kayan National Unity
Ind = Independent
LNDP = Lahu National Development Party
NLD = National League for Democracy
PND = Party for National Democracy
SNLD = Shan Nationalities League for Democracy
ZNC = Zomi National Congress