The Law Khii Lah Agreement

August 30, 2001

Ethnic nationalities leaders from major organizations met at the Lw Khii Lah Camp, Kawthoolei, From August 26-30, 2001, and discussed the need for unity and closer cooperation in a fraternal spirit and atmosphere.

The leaders agreed on the need to strengthen the unity of the Ethnic Nationalities and a working committee, the Ethnic Nationalities Solidarity and Cooperation Committee (ENSCC), was thereby established. The committee has been entrusted with the task of fostering unity and cooperation between all Ethnic Nationalities forces and to promote a peaceful political settlement in Burma through tripartite dialogue.

The Ethnic Nationalities are cautiously optimistic about the talks held since October 2000 in Tangoon between Daw Aung San Suu Kyi and the State Peace and Development Council (SPDC). The Ethnic Nationalities leaders welcome and fully support the efforts of Ambassador H.E. Razali Ismail, the U.N. Special Envoy, to facilitate a peaceful settlement through a tripartite dialogue in Burma.

It was also resolved that the Ethnic Nationalities forces would:

Undertake pro-active and constructive actions to bring about a peaceful resolution to the political conflict in Burma through a dialogue process involving the SPCD, the NLD led by Daw Aung San Suu Kyi, and the Ethnic Nationalities as dialogue partners;

Consult widely, cooperate, and work closely with all stakeholders in Burma and with the international community, international bodies and agencies, the U.N., and humanitarian organizations to resolve the grave humanitarian crises in Burma, which most seriously affect the Ethnic Nationalities population;

Strive to facilitate and orderly and peaceful democratic transition in Burma, and to rebuild the country in accordance with the spirit of Panglong, the principle of Equality, Self-Determination, Democracy, and Justice.


1. Arakan Liberation Party (ALP),

2. Chin National Front (CNF),

3. Karen National Union (KNU),

4. Karenni National Progressive Party (KNPP),

5. Lahu Democratic Front (LDF), and

6. Palaung State Liberation Organization (PSLF),

7. Pa-O People's Liberation Organization (PPLO),

8. Shan Democratic Union (SDU),

9. United Nationalities League for Democracy/Liberated Area (UNLD/LA)*

Other allied Ethnic Nationalities organizations

* The UNLD was unilaterally dissolved by the State law and Order Council (SLORC) in 1992. Thus the UNLD in exile was formed in the liberated area in order to carry out the mission of the organization. An official announcement on the formation of the UNLD/LA (in exile) was made on Union Day, 1998.